Top Menu

The 2017 Lewisham Awards finalists announced

Photo credit: The Langham Auckland

An amazing number of nominations will make for some strong competition to find the cream of Auckland hospitality in this year’s Lewisham awards.

The Lewisham Awards recognise every aspect that contributes to the excellence of Auckland’s vibrant and diverse dining and entertainment scene whether it is a new chef, barista, supplier or wine list.

The total number of nominations that have poured in this year have not only surpassed last year’s voting, but have also seen some fantastic new names and faces being put forward.

What is making this a very tough and exciting year is that we are seeing long established venues being joined in the top four with amazing new venues and hospitality stars, which we think identifies the consistently high standard across the industry.

This year we are celebrating 15 years of the Lewisham Awards which has seen some great changes, such as the addition of the “Outstanding Barista” and “Outstanding Cafe” categories.

Voting to select the top 19 hospitality stars is underway and will close for the final count on  Sunday May 28. This will ensure that Auckland’s hospitality stars will be ready to hit the red carpet on the Awards night to support all the top finalists and celebrate the winners in true hospitality style.

The 2017 Lewisham Awards finalists are:

Outstanding Waiter sponsored by Crombie Lockwood

Des Dillon, Soul Bar & Bistro

Melodee Pearce, Prego Restaurant

Rachele Pupilli, O’Connell St Bristro

Bailey Mullin, Soul Bar & Bistro

Outstanding Maitre’ d sponsored by antipodes 

Nach Gonzalez, Conch Bar

Michelle Moore, The French Cafe

Matthew Aitchison, Cassia

Leighroy Wran, Blue Breeze Inn

Outstanding Bartender sponsored by Federal Merchant & Co

Asa Campbell, My Bar

Jeremy Nivern, Mea Culpa

Jonny Almario, Madame George

Kula Watcharawannee, Azabu

Outstanding Sales Representative sponsored by Restaurant Association of NZ

Emily Udjur, Southern Hospitality

Chris Mansfield, Hancocks Wine Spirit & Beer Merchants

Michael Thomasen, Southern Hospitality

John Meehan, Red & White

Outstanding Wine List sponsored by EuroVintage

O’Connell St Bistro

Ponsonby Road Bistro


Euro Restaurant & Bar

Outstanding Supplier sponsored by Hospitality New Zealand

Southern Hospitality

Hancocks Wine Spirit & Beer Merchants



Outstanding Wine Service Professional sponsored by Negociants

Grant Dingwall, Clooney

Benjamin Smith, O’Connell St Bistro

Ben Mardle, Euro Restaurant & Bar

Sonja Anich, Moo Chow Chow

Outstanding Local sponsored by Southern Hospitality

Golden Dawn

Coco’s Cantina

Madame George

Pocket Bar

Outstanding Caterer sponsored by Fine Food NZ


Urban Gourmet


The Great Catering Company

Outstanding Street Food sponsored by CLYTH MACLEOD

Dixie Barbecue

Judge Bao

The White Lady


Outstanding Bar sponsored by Hancocks Wine  Spirit & Beer Merchants


My Bar

Mea Culpa


Outstanding Barista sponsored by Meadow Fresh

Zoe Warren, The Store

Samuel Te Kani, Eighthirty

Sam Holden, Pollen

Sai Okesene, Shakedown Milk Bar

Outstanding Cafe sponsored by Bidfood  



Takapuna Beach

Shakedown Milk Bar

Outstanding New Venue sponsored by menumate



Augustus Bistro

Gemmayze Street

Outstanding Establishment sponsored by OneMusic

Euro Restaurant & Bar

Prego Restaurant

Soul Bar & Bistro

Cafe Hanoi

Emerging Talent sponsored by Moana New Zealand

Oliver Philip, Scarecrow

Lucy Wong-Kam, LittleWolf

Jorja Grogan, Bricklane

Abel Mok, saan

Outstanding Chef sponsored by Gilmours

Michael Meredith, Meredith’s

Che Barrington, Woodpecker Hill

Kyle Street, Culprit

Mark Southon, O’Connell St Bistro

Outstanding Restaurateur sponsored by Pernod Ricard

Christopher Upton, O’Connell St Bistro

Melissa Morrow, Ponsonby Road Bistro

Chris Rupe, SPQR, Augusto Bistro

Krishna Botica, Cafe Hanoi, saan, Xuxu Dumpling Bar

Outstanding Hospitality Personality sponsored by Moët Hennessy

Mandy Lusk, Vivace

Al Brown, Depot

Ben Taylor, Revelry

Nicola Richards, Monsoon Poon

Tickets are on sale now for the awards evening at The Langham on Sunday 4th June 2017. For more information or to purchase tickets go to